Genkina hito’s Summer of Splatter Films

It has been a while since I have done a season based on something or someone…

Genkina Hito's Summer of Splatter Films

I spent a couple of hours during the first part of this month updating old reviews with information and posters and whilst doing that I got a bit nostalgiac for a period four years ago, in the early years of this blog, when I spent many days a week watching and enjoying J-horror films and then writing reviews of them – Uzumaki, Loft etc. I covered a variety of titles that were available in the West from famous auteurs such as Kiyoshi Kurosawa, Takashi Miike, and Takashi Shimizu to unknowns. Since then I have moved on to writing about dramas, comedies, and film festivals but the love of ridiculous and scary movies has not gone away and neither has my DVD pile which has actually grown. This coupled with the fact that many of the directors I reviewed are still working in the Japanese film industry makes me want to hit my film backlog over the next few months so that when I write my trailer posts I can fill out filmographies. So, for the foreseeable future of this blog, I’m going to review splatter/horror films and I’ll cheat and throw in some horror manga I have read/collected over the lifetime of this blog plus cinema releases I haven’t written about.

Expect titles like Kakashi and Deadball mixed in with Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends and Leviathan.

My collection is large so I’ll call a stop to it on October 31st when I do my annual Halloween post. I must admit that judging by even my most extreme posting pattern (four times a week, sometimes more) this season won’t include all of my horror films and I have some held back in reserve for other things… I may do something for the dramas I have collected.

Before that… it’s time to get messy!

Junk Film Image 2

 

Reviews:

Fu-Rai: White Panic (film)

As the Gods Will (film)

Hellevator: The Bottled Fools (film)

6000: The Deep Sea of Madness (manga)

I Am a Hero (manga)

Big Tits Zombie (film)

Deadball (film)

Meatball Machine (film)

Tamami the Baby’s Curse (film)

Lychee Light Club/ Litchi Hikari Club (manga)

Puzzle (film)

Mutant Girls Squad (film)

Helldriver (film)

Alien vs Ninja (film)

Attack Girls’ Swim Team vs. the Undead (film)

Zombie Self-Defence Force (film)

High School Girl Rikka Zombie Hunter (film)

The Machine Girl (film)

15 thoughts on “Genkina hito’s Summer of Splatter Films

      1. Outside of anime I’m watching a mix of things like J-horror like Machine Girl and Deadball, Ju-On: Owari no Hajime and some older films like Tokyo Drifter.

      2. I’ve heard Tokyo drifter is excellent. I recently watched the kiseijuu: part 1 film and honestly didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. The anime is far superior.

      3. I read mixed reviews but I’ll still pick up the live-action since it’s getting a UK release. The anime was always going to be superior since it has more time to tell the story. Plus Aya Hirano will always be Migi to me!

      4. Another series I’ve been watching is [C]. I saw it when it aired and forgot how good it was. Talk about a solid soundtrack and interesting premise.

      5. Bacanno is great. Very few anime can handle a setting in that time period like this one– with such rambunctious fun and flair! Hope we see Isaac and Miria in Durarara!! again!

      6. New Noitamina series announced for winter 2016! Boku machi. A psychological seinen series about a mangakan/pizza delivery boy that has an odd ability before a crime happens it replays in his mind. He has to find what is out of place and solve it if he can!

      7. I’m in the middle of writing a preview of the summer season but I’m already looking at titles further on in the year like One Punch Man and Kagewani, and Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider.

      8. Subete ga f no naru had a live action television drama last year and it was great. I can’t wait to see what the Elfen Lied director and having a late-night timeslot will be able to do with the story! Not to mention Solanin character designer! I think one Noitamina series I’m most eager about is BokuMachi. 2016 will be great as we have yet to hear much about Wit StudioxTetsuro Araki’s new project “kanaberi”.

Leave a Reply

