Zombideo, I Don’t Want to Go to School, Blue Exorcist Trailer and the Japanese Movie Box Office Chart

old boy endChristmas came and went a little too quickly for my taste this year. The big day happened, I ate heartily gave out a lot of presents and received a lot and before I knew it I was back in work! Over the Christmas period I watched some low-budget J-horror films and a lot of giallo titles including the gloriously titled Your Vice is a Locked Room and Only I Have the Key. Seriously, that is an awesome title. I thought the movie was equally awesome. Anyway, it’s almost time to say goodbye to 2012 but this week I got a lot done including a review of The Voice and my Best Of string of posts including best video game, best film and best film/anime. Tomorrow I look forward to some of the far eastern titles getting a release in the UK next year and on New Year’s Eve I use my last post of the year to babble about stuff and thank people and other things. I promise plenty of great images! 

What does the Japanese box office look like today?

  1. One Piece Film Z
  2. Les Miserables
  3. Love for Beginners
  4. Skyfall
  5. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
  6. Kamen Rider X Kamen Rider Wizard & Fourze: Movie War Ultimatum
  7. Humanoid Monster Bem
  8. The Castle of Crossed Destinies
  9. Evangelion: 3.0 You Can (Not) Redo
  10. Frankenweenie
  11. The Floating Castle

One Piece still dominates the charts and only one of last week’s releases, The Castle of Crossed Destinies, breaks into the top ten. Skyfall climbs back up the chart and The Hobbit has a major fall.

What was released yesterday and what is released today in Japan?

Blue Exorcist                Blue Exorcist Film Poster

Japanese Title: 劇場版 青の祓魔師

Romaji:  Gekijouban Ao no Exorcist 

Release Date: 28th December 2012 (Japan)

Running Time: N/A

Director: Atsushi Takahashi

Writer: Reiko Yoshida (Screenplay), Kazue Katō (Original Creator

Starring: Nobuhiko Okamoto (Rin Okumura), Jun Fukuyama (Yukio Okumura), Tetsuya Kakihara (Amaimon), Rie Kugimiya (Usamaro) 

I cannot really drum up any enthusiasm for this because I have no watched the TV anime. I do know the staff and cast behind it. The movie is animated by A-1 Pictures who are behind one of my favourite anime shows of the summer season, Sword Art Online. The director is Atsushi Takahashi who was assistant director on Spirited Away, one of my all-time favourite cinema experiences. Reiko Yoshida is responsible for the screenplay and she wrote the screenplay for The Cat Return, an anime I really like. Music is provided by Hiroyuki Sawano (Guilty Crown), Shinji Kimura is art director and he has worked on a huge array of films including Akira, Project A-Ko, Spriggan, Steamboy, Tekkonkinkreet which all have distinctive and brilliant animation and art. Keigo Sasaki, who worked on the rather good Le Chevalier D’Eon, is providing the character designs.

 

 

Zombideo                                                      Zombideo Film Poster

Japanese Title: ゾンビデオ

Romaji: Zombideo

Release Date: 29th December 2012 (Japan)

Running Time: N/A

Director: Kenji Murakami

Writer: Katsuo Kawai (Screenplay),

Starring: Mami Yajima, Miyuki Torii, Takashi Nakajima, Jouichi Ohori

Ah… zombies. I have had my fill of zombies this year what with The Walking Dead. Originally made in 2011, this horror comedy stars Mami Yajima who is a member of the idol group “°C-ute”. There have been quite a few films like this made over the past year. This one looks like low-budget fun with plenty of fights, bizarre characters and cheap make-up. As it is the end of the year, I do not think I would go out my way to see this.

Aiko (Yajima) works for a TV production company and discovers a video called “Introduction to Science”, a “how to” video which features a guide on dealing with zombies. Good timing really because a zombie army floods Japan and it is up to Aiko to beat back the ravenous hoards.

 

I do not Want to Go to School – Chrysalis                   Sanagi Film Poster

Japanese Title: さなぎ 学校に行きたくない

Romaji: Sanagi Gakkou ni Ikitakunai

Release Date: 29th December 2012 (Japan)

Running Time:103 mins.

Director: Junko Miura

Writer: N/A

Starring: N/A

This documentary follows Ai Kinoshita, a school girl who lives in Ina Valley in Nagano Prefecture, a place full of beautiful nature. When Ai refuses to go to school, her family are upset and have to explore alternative forms of education and simply spending time with friends and family in order to get Ai back into school again.

12 thoughts on “Zombideo, I Don’t Want to Go to School, Blue Exorcist Trailer and the Japanese Movie Box Office Chart

  1. I like the look of the documentary.

    You can’t have had your fill of zombie movies yet, you need to watch Kitsutsuki to Ame still! Okay, so that’s not really a zombie movie, but a movie with some zombies.

    1. I’ll never truly be done with zombies but after the emotionally shattering conclusion to The Walking Dead I want to watch something other than horror for a spell. As far as The Woodsman and the Rain goes… Well… that’s in a post for tomorrow. If I watch it or not is another matter.

      1. Yeah, I probably will watch it because I was excited about it all year (THE GREAT ACTOR KOJI YAKUSHO STARS IN IT!) and I want to support Third Window Films. I’ve been looking at more and more older titles though. I definitely want to do an Ozu season. I’ve watched a few but never reviewed them.

      2. Oguri Shun stars in it. Actually, a whole lot of great actors are in it. No really, that movie really made me appreciate the way the Japanese do comedies. So much better than the in-the-face, slapstick way.

      3. I figured you might find a way of bringing Oguri-san into this 😉

        Japanese comedies are really good. You should watch Fine, Totally Fine. That’s a great comedy!

        Just to being it back to the old school J-films thread for a moment, I’m watching Tokyo Drifter tonight.

      4. Although I like Oguri and think he does well in the acting department – in a variety of roles – he isn’t my favourite.

        I’ve actually got Fine, Totally Fine on DVD, just haven’t found the time to watch it…

      5. I’ll stop teasing you about him. I must admit, he is a good actor. I’m so happy that TWF have picked up For Love’s Sake.

        Ah, I really liked Fine, Totally Fine and I think you’ll like it as well. Maybe I liked it because I’m around the same age as the protagonists… and in a similar state as well…

      6. OH YEAH! I just did a check of Oguri’s filmography and I’ve pretty much disliked most things I’ve seen him in apart from Reincarnation where he had a bit-part as a boyfriend in about three scenes.

        Let me rephrase: Tsumabuki is a very good actor. I’m so happy TWF have picked up For Love’s Sake.

      7. Have you watched any dramas with Oguri? I haven’t watched most of his films, I just know him from the dorama world – Hana Yori Dango, Smile, Hana Kimi and so forth…

      8. I have not watched any of his dramas. I should start watching and writing more about Asian dramas. I’ll have to follow advice from Tired Paul and your good self.

        Right now I’ve finished editing a preview guide to the winter season anime due out next month and I am going to watch Tokyo Drifter. I hope you had a great Christmas and have a good night!

        おやすみ なさい

Leave a Reply

