7×7 Link Awards

7x7 Link AwardGoregirl has nominated me for a 7×7 Link Award so much thanks to her! Here are the rules.

1.) Tell everyone seven things that no one else (and I intepreted this as fellow bloggers) knows about you.

2.) Link to one of the posts that I personally think best fits the following categories: Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful Piece, Most Popular Piece, Most Controversial Piece, Most Surprisingly Successful Piece, Most Underrated Piece, and Most Pride-Worthy Piece.

3.) Pass the award on to seven other bloggers.

Seven Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me:

Rei Ayanami in Adrift in Tokyo

1. I can play the piano and clarinet (or I used to in the case of the clarinet since I haven’t touched one since being a member of my high school orchestra).

2. I have been to France on a number of occasions and I can speak basic French. Whenever I meet French girls I talk to them in French about French films. Alas, the last time I did this was just before purchasing my ticket to see Norwegian Wood last May.

3. The first Asian films I ever watched came from Hong Kong when I was six or so. I used to watch Jackie Chan movies like Snake in the Eagle’s Shadow. The first Japanese films I watched came just before entering high school with Akira Kurosawa, and Ozu.

4. I collect my cinema ticket stubs – I have a variety like Fifth Element, Battle Royale, Infernal Affairs, Old Boy, Spirited Away, Inception x 2, Vital.

5. Whenever I write posts for my blog I listen to HP Podcraft, Japanese bullet-hell OST’s, J-Rock, and chip-tune music.

6. I can speak Japanese at the level of a five year old Japanese girl. When foreigners are first taught the language we learn the masu form which is polite and associated with girls. It was only last year when watching Mawaru Penguindrum that I began to understand informal/colloquial Japanese.

7. My favourite video game of all-time is a joint tie between Broken Sword, Shenmue, and The Curse of Monkey Island.

Link to one of the posts that I personally think best fits the following categories:

Most Beautiful:

I’m not sure I would describe any of my posts as beautiful but one that is packed full of beautiful images and readable writing is Mawaru Penguindrum. Unlike a lot of older posts it is concise and focussed and displays my passion for the subject and it gets across what I felt about the topic.

Most Helpful:

My most helpful post would either be a round-up of the Japanese films at this year’s Berlin Film Festival or the one announcing the full line-up of titles for next week’s 4th Terracotta Far East Film Festival. One of my new year’s resolutions was to give more coverage of film festivals and the Japanese films that will be shown so I basically compiled all of the films that were shown/are showing at the festivals and gave some images, details, and opinions.

Most Popular:

According to my stats the post which is the most popular also has the most ungainly title: Berserk – Golden Age Arc I: Egg of the Supreme King, The Dinosaurs Before Dark, Outrage, Trailers. I notice it hovering near the top posts of the past week all the time but I’m still surprised. The main draw is the trailer for the recent anime movie adaptation of Berserk. I have posted newer trailers and even the first ten minutes of the film since that original one but people still keep reading that particular post.

Most Controversial:

I don’t really do controversial since I am too laid-back and more of a peace-maker. That or my writing doesn’t inspire anger. I made someone irritated with my review of Blood-C but then I talked her out of it. Or bored her to tears. 

Most Surprisingly Successful:

Anime is one of the biggest draws to my blog but to see Uta no Prince Sama First Impression in my top five and still going strong is a surprise. The writing wasn’t all that great but that doesn’t matter since it seems to be the images that are the main draw.

Most Underrated:

Hard to pick. I really liked my reviews for House and Loft but it seems that not many other people did. They are two little seen horror movies that only genre enthusiasts and Japanophiles will be aware of and they deserve to be much better known.

Most Pride-Worthy:

It’s hard to say. I know when I have written terrible reviews and I know when I have written entertaining ones… I suspect my most beautiful pieces come when I am focussed or have been inspired by a film. I enjoyed writing my Kiysohi Kurosawa reviews last September but I’ll have to say that my recent Sion Sono Season and all of the associated reviews take the cake since I wrote a series of reviews that I was happy with and they all got responses. I was pleased with the images I put in the posts and I felt like I had actually done a good job.

Seven blogs that deserve the award:

There are a lot of great movie blogs out there but here are seen that really deserve it. I know that some of these blogs have already had the award but they deserve it again so there (plus they don’t have to write a post and pass it on).

Bonjour Tristesse – I get the impression that Bonjour is a very classy chap. He watches foreign and indie films, he writes clear, concise, intelligent and interesting reviews and these reviews have great images.

Goregirl – Goregirl is my go-to-girl for horror movies and the generally weird. I grew up watching British, American, and Italian horror flicks and she has reviewed them all. Her knowledge and enthusiasm is inspiring and fun and it’s always great to get her opinion on things – especially Japanese films! She has reviewed all sorts of Japanese films and recently had a Toho March season which was fascinating.

Inspired Ground – Andina has gone Hollywood on us what with her getting a mention in a magazine and she deserves it. Her blog shows a love of a wide variety of films and there is always an interesting element or insight in her reviews.

Iwa ni Hana – before I started blogging I was reading this blog which combines philosophy, aesthetics, and Asian culture in a series of fascinating articles. Alas it has not been updated in a while and a lot of the early content was removed when the blog was revamped but it is still beautiful and interesting. I wish my blog was as good.

Slouching Somewhere – Mabel regularly goes on journeys and then posts the most fascinating articles with great pictures. I cannot think of another travel blog which combines the most useful information available on travel with gorgeous pictures and fantastic and interesting writing.

Sadako’s Movie Shack – The prospect of comparing review notes with the much misunderstood Sadako is too much to pass up! It is not the supernatural girl but a very dedicated Japanese film fan. The blog has titles I won’t be covering for a while yet and there’s always something interesting to discover.

360 Degree Review – A new blog that always gives passionate responses to western cinema and all of the latest films that will be on the big screen. She shares my passion for the Alien franchise and the forthcoming title Prometheus so she gets my respect.

11 thoughts on “7×7 Link Awards

  1. akb48fan

    Thanks so much for recommending my site for a 7×7 Link Award. I appreciate it. Your site definitely deserves to be recommended for people interested in Japanese anime/manga and movies.

  2. goregirl

    Your welcome…entirely my pleasure sir! One of the great things about social media is it allows us to connect with people who like the same shite we like…it is awesome! Your Terracotta post was top notch and I agree House is an underrated film that deserves more attention!

    1. I totally agree. I know few people in my personal circle who are as passionate about films like you and others I have met. And yes, we need more appreciation of House!

  3. Oh my word, your comment-‘debate’ (and I use that word loosely) with your opinionated reader over on the Blood-C review had me cracking up! Truly fantastic response. And for the record, you didn’t go overboard. Brilliant.

    Massive congratulations on yet another award – you really do deserve it. You’ve become my go-to source for Asian cinema – ‘Cold Fish’ arrived the other day, and I’m sure I would never have come across it if it wasn’t for your excellent review. Thank you for those kind words!

  4. (Mawaru Penguindrum IS a beautiful post indeed – it looks gorgeous. I can’t believe I’ve never come across this/ had it recommended before now. Sounds right up my street. The search bar pops up, so it’s not a problem, but the link here doesn’t seem to work)

    1. Thanks for the heads-up. I changed the link and it’s working. I really hope you enjoy Cold Fish. I loved the film and I’d like to get your opinion on it! Also, Mawaru Penguindrum is brilliant. It is brilliantly crafted – sharp, imaginative writing that goes in unexpected directions, goregeous animation and beautiful music. At the end I was so damn emotional.

  5. I feel my head get swelling 🙂 It’s not Hollywood, it’s a local magazine. But thank you for the kind words! also for passing the award.
    Interesting facts! I think I saw Jackie Chan to when I was a kid. Interesting to know that you listen to some music to post something in your blog. Probably effective to built the mood.

Leave a Reply

