A Sower of Seeds, Ouran High School Host Club – Friday Break Trailers

Not much to report this week. I posted about the Terracotta Far East Film Festival which has a truly awesome line up. I finally posted the shows that looked the most interesting me in the Spring 2012 anime preview and I have to admit that I was disappointed by what turned up. Tonight’s Akira Kurosawa film is “The Men Who Tread on the Tiger’s Tail” (1945). Meanwhile the Japanese charts for 10-11th March look a bit flat.

01. Doraemon – Animal Adventure
02. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows
03. Liar Game: Reborn
04. Hugo
05. In Time

Also flat are the trailers for the films released today.

Ouran High School Host Club – Friday Break

Release date:  17th of March, 2012

Running time: N/A

Director:

Starring: Haruna Kawaguchi, Ryo Ryusei, Mariko Shinoda, Nichkun, Yusuke Yamamoto, Shunsuke Daito

Ouran High School Host Club – Friday Break, is a live-action adaptation of TBS’s television series which is an adaptation of Bisco Hatori’s romantic comedy manga Ouran High School Host Club. Phew. The movie uses the same cast as the television show with the film’s lead actress Haruna Kawaguchi making her feature film debut by reprising her role as Haruhi Fujioka. Mariko Shinoda of J-pop super-group AKB48 also puts in an appearance. Other interesting cast members include Shunsuke Daito who was in the recent Ace Attorney movie.

Ouran High School Host Club follows a girl named Haruhi Fujioka who attends a wealthy school. One day she damages a vase and so disguises herself as a boy to join the host club and pay off the damage.

I’ve never read the manga because it’s aimed at girls so I have little interest in this beyond seeing how long it will stay in the charts.

A Sower of Seeds

Release Date: 17th March

Running Time: N/A

Director:  Toshi Shioya

Writer: Katsumi Ishikawa, Chiaki Miura

Starring: Takanori Jinnai, Rena Tanaka, Yu Yoshizawa, Akira Emoto, Yuri Nakamura

This is a film about the making of organic green tea in the scenic city of Usuki, Ōita. It stars Rena Tanaka (The Sumer of Ubume) and Yu Yoshizawa (One Missed Call 2) amongst others, was screened in the recent Yubari International Fantastic Film Festival.

Minori (Tanaka) is a Tokyoite who is laid off and must return to her grandfather’s farm to collect herself. Almost predictably her grandfather collapses and she has to run the farm. Fortunately there is a friendly local official named Kinjiro (Jinnai) who appears to help.

4 thoughts on “A Sower of Seeds, Ouran High School Host Club – Friday Break Trailers

  1. I am seriously creeped out by even the IDEA of a live action Ouran High film. Genuine failure of words… As my brain can’t quite process that trailer, I’ll just speculate; could it be any worse than ‘Scooby-Doo 2: Monsters Unleased’? The benchmark of crappiness when it comes to film adaptation of popular animated serials.

    1. You like Ouran? That’s cool. I’ll consider you the expert on harem manga/anime for girls. The trailer looks awful but I have seen worse films that make me shudder at my lack of to this day. That said I avoided Scooby Doo 2 because I thought the first one was so awful.

      1. Ooh, I’ve never been called an “expert” before! 😛

        Any particular TRULY awful films you can think of right now? Maybe it’s masochistic tendencies slipping through, but I can’t stop myself from seeking out unbelievably awful movies. Otherwise I would NEVER buy something featuring Kylie Minogue.

        (You may judge me: I enjoy Scooby-Doo…)

  2. Awful films? Messiah of Evil: The Second Coming. I picked it up after reading an interesting write up in Sight and Sound and I thought it was awful. The first Transformers film was another terrible experience.

Leave a Reply

